Pictured: Looking East from the 200 Block on Georgia Street in Vallejo, the 4-story building on the left is Farragut Hall, 4-story building on the right is an apartment building, both torn down in 1950 redevelopment. The long building in next the block was Levee's Department Store on the corner of Georgia and Sacramento Streets. The present building on this site is a replacement built in the 1950's.
Photo courtesy of Vallejo Naval and Historical Museum
William Stanford was named Vallejo's first Chief of Police on April 4th, 1900. He was a Mare Island Naval Shipyard mechanic with no prior law enforcement experience. He continued to serve as Chief of Police until his retirement in 1936. Photo courtesy of the Vallejo Naval and Historical Museum.
Genealogy Society of Vallejo-Benicia c/o: Vallejo Naval & Historical Museum 734 Marin Street Vallejo, CA 94590